RSS Feed

12 of 12 June 2017

I am again a bit late with 12/12, but I’m not giving up either. I had however the problem that I hadn’t realized that there was no SD card in my camera, so I had to re-enact some photos because they hadn’t been saved.

Breakfast consisted of another batch of homemade granola (this time I recycled a bag of nuts and dried fruit). I preferred the previous one, I think this one has too many oats. I also had a few strawberries and some soft cheese made from “Heumilch” – hay milk. Apparently the cows have just been fed with grass and hay. I hadn’t known that existed, but it’s nice.

20170614_110438

My herbs are coming along nicely. Most of them are mints – and I think I have 3 different kinds of. Sadly most of the mint is a hairy variety that doesn’t smell that intense. I keep planning on cutting down my herbs and to dry them before they get ugly and start to flower.

20170614_122108

There are new episodes of “Poldark” – yay! I get reminded of my short trip to Cornwall last year. I quite liked it there and would not mind to return some time.

20170612_145534

Knitwise I am still working on my Caramel cardigan. I continued beyond the shoulders and tried it on. I suppose it will grow a bit, so I think the fit looks good so far. The only worry I have are the edges that are rolling in a bit. I hope it will be better after blocking.

20170612_152518

I was working on a job application for quite some time. I normally do them with latex. The place where I applied demanded an application with photo and sent by post. It is quite unusual. In the meantime I had some promising news from other potential jobs. We’ll see about that soon. It’s good to know that I get some positive response with my weird skill set and work experience. I think I am on the right track.

20170612_145118

I finished reading the last book of Tad Williams’ Osten Ard series. I am glad that I made it because it was long, I am proud that I stuck with it, I enjoyed reading a really long story for a change and I am a bit sad that it’s over. But I quite liked the ending. Now I am undecided if I should start with the new Osten Ard series, which will take some years to be fully published I guess, if I should read Shadowmarch now, which I am planning for ages, but I’m not sure that I can handle another 4-book looong looong fantasy story right now, or if I should go and read something else. For example Firebrand by Kristen Britain, which came out a few months ago.

20170614_115647

In the evening I went to my pottery class. I passed a pretty field of wheat (?)

20170612_183328

I had made a bunch of bowls on the wheel, and chose one set that fits into each other. They have been bisque fired.

20170612_211435

I had plans to paint them with fish scales, inspired by koinobori. Each bowl should get their own color – black, red, blue, etc.. I was wondering how to do this and thought about putting on some resist resin or wax to preserve the white color, but my pottery teacher had another idea and I tried it out with two spare bowls. I’m very curious to see how they turned out.

20170612_205725

I worked also on the other leftover bowls – some to become a berry bowl, and two very unbalanced ones were to become some measuring cups. I suppose the large one can hold the volume of one US cup, which might be handy for baking and cooking.

20170612_200001

Back at home, R. was experimenting with attaching my camera to his telescope. He tried to take a photo of Jupiter, but it was a bit blurry. We have to work on it still.

20170613_005205

Leave a Reply

