A long expected blog post

Geeez, nothing’s going on here! I am a bit lazy right now, but I thought I’d start with a little update:
 
Music:
I really enjoyed the concert by Woodkid on the last instance of the local music festival. I liked him before, but after seeing him live and checking the lyrics of “The Golden Age” (a bit hard to understand), I like him even more. Also the latest album “Ghost Stories” by Coldplay is quite nice.
 
Books:
I’m following the Harry Potter re-read on Tor.com, so I will start the prisoner of Azkaban next. Apart from that I seem to have problems to commit myself. I planned to re-read the Green Rider series by Kristen Britain before reading the newest book Mirror of the Moon and managed part 2 and 3, but got stuck with #4. Then I had ambitions to read one of my favorite series (Heralds of valdemar) in French, but it just didn’t work for me. Then I became tired of reading anything at all and yesterday I remembered that I have the audio book of the Lord of the Rings on my smartphone and am listening to the introduction right now. I intended to read it again for ages, so maybe I will do that. I especially love the first part, the journey through the Shire, the fight at the Weathertop. Then I remembered, that I bought the Atlas of Middle Earth and Journeys of Frodo recently for the next time I would read it, and the audio book is moving too fast to catch up on the atlas. So back to the Prisoner of Azkaban…
TV/Movies:
I saw the pilot episode of “Outlander”, a new TV show based on the books by Diana Gabaldon. I never read them, but I love Scotland and the first episode of the series looked really nice, so I am looking forward to see more of it. Also there’s a new season of The Great British Bake off. The first girl that got kicked out seemed to be very entertaining, so sad she’s already gone. But the nerdy guy is still in. Though he is a bit annoying, he seems to be fun. It’s interesting how they cast different types of characters each time.
 
Cooking:
Some baking: lemon cake. Then cheesecake without a dough foundation, so basically just the filling (because that is what I love best). People in the internet wrote it would work well with that recipe I usually use very successfully, but it was very liquid and mushy. I don’t know if it is because of the non-existent foundation, that would suck up some of the moisture, or because I added frozen cherries (cheesecake with cherries is the best thing ever). I felt a bit sorry for the cake, so probably I will not repeat that. I am in mood to make some biscuits next.
 
Gardening:
The tomatoes were growing nicely, but now they caught some moldy sickness, they get brown spots, and the leaves are getting brown and dry. Possibly because of the wet climate. Everyone else’s tomatoes around here look the same. I love some decent rain, especially when I can cuddle up on the sofa below the roof window, but it is less good for outdoorsy activities (open air cinema) and apparently not good for tomatoes. My second batch still looks good though. *keeping fingers crossed*
 
Work: 
I got my invitation letter and the book list, a bed in the dormitory and some reduction on the train, leaving on platform 2 C. The new term starts in October. Classes are advanced chemical potions, care for magical meteorites, transfiguration of analytical set-ups and writing several scrolls of scientific treatises. Extra-curricular activities: spending lots of time in trains, trying to understand the foreign tongue and joining a new knitting club. I am very glad and excited about it, though I wish I could apparate. Damn, I’d even take floo powder…
 
Crafts:
I am knitting a Tubularity (good fun for movie nights), still the Primrose Cardigan, and two Annis Shawls
 
Geek (?) stuff: 
I would like to own more subtely geeky things and clothes, so kindred spirits might recognize me as one of their own, but Muggles would not care. Like the T-shirt with the Tree of Gondor, or a skirt with stars and planetary nebulae, Harry Potter themed stitch markers, A Hogwarts school sweater (or vest), A skirt or vest from the 10th’s doctor favorite suit fabric, a t-shirt with a drawing of the Cheshire Cat from Alice in wonderland, some nice wall art, like a map of middle earth or paintings by John Howe. Not going so far as cosplay, but incorporating it into daily life.
 
What else?
Here comes the rain again…

Leave a comment